Buhari Names 6 Ministers To Engage With Twitter

  • Comments: 0
  • Posted by: Imoh Robert

President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday named six ministers to engage with Twitter over the recent suspension of the operations of the microblogging and social networking service in Nigeria.The Minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, is to chair the team of mediators.

A statement released by the Special Assistant to the President (Media), Office of the Minister of Information and Culture, Segun Adeyemi, said that other ministers in the team included the Attorney General of the Federation and the Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami; the Minister of Communications and Digital Economy, Isa Ali Pantami; the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Geoffrey Onyeama; the Minister of Works and Housing, Babatunde Fashola, and the Minister of State for Labour and Employment, Festus Keyamo.

The statement added that officials from other relevant government agencies will also be on the team.

The federal government had on June 5 imposed an indefinite ban on Twitter from operating in Nigeria after the social media platform deleted Buhari’s tweets – warning the south eastern people of Nigeria of a potential repeat of the Biafran Civil War of 1967-1970 following escalation in insurgency traced to the Indigenous Peoples of Biafra (IPOB).

It said the decision to ban Twitter was based on a litany of problems with the social media platform in Nigeria, for allowing the spread of misinformation and fake news that are capable of undermining Nigeria’s corporate existence.

 Following the indefinite suspension of its operations in Nigeria, Twitter wrote to President Buhari seeking to engage with the federal government over the suspension, with a view to charting a path forward.

Author: Imoh Robert

Leave a Reply